Skip to content
City of London Counts — City of London, in numbers.Local help →

City of London · England

People and living standards

City of London council area. Every figure carries its own date.

City of London

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

City of London local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 5,361 in 1991 to 15,631 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

City of London council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 5,551 people in 1996; 15,631 people in 2025. 181.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — City of London council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19915,361
19925,167
19935,309
19945,425
19955,489
19965,551
19975,670
19985,720
19996,581
20007,014
20017,359
20027,280
20037,115
20047,118
20057,131
20067,254
20077,607
20087,429
20097,472
20107,338
20117,412
20127,514
20137,537
20147,567
20157,668
20167,737
20177,877
20188,165
20198,765
20208,331
20218,689
202212,020
202314,514
202415,497
202515,631
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

City of London council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 553 people in 1996; 561 people in 2025. 1.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — City of London council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991445
1992448
1993473
1994512
1995533
1996553
1997565
1998573
1999635
2000655
2001662
2002640
2003617
2004608
2005593
2006600
2007611
2008594
2009573
2010608
2011613
2012615
2013609
2014608
2015596
2016578
2017607
2018631
2019646
2020597
2021581
2022807
2023718
2024661
2025561
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

City of London council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 4,050 people in 1996; 13,629 people in 2025. 236.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — City of London council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19914,016
19923,807
19933,907
19943,989
19954,028
19964,050
19974,137
19984,183
19994,959
20005,385
20015,732
20025,682
20035,555
20045,566
20055,592
20065,696
20076,030
20085,825
20095,859
20105,691
20115,748
20125,834
20135,819
20145,835
20155,924
20165,983
20176,070
20186,308
20196,901
20206,507
20216,868
20229,906
202312,413
202413,430
202513,629
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

City of London council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 948 people in 1996; 1,441 people in 2025. 52% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — City of London council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991900
1992912
1993929
1994924
1995928
1996948
1997968
1998964
1999987
2000974
2001965
2002958
2003943
2004944
2005946
2006958
2007966
20081,010
20091,040
20101,039
20111,051
20121,065
20131,109
20141,124
20151,148
20161,176
20171,200
20181,226
20191,218
20201,227
20211,240
20221,307
20231,383
20241,406
20251,441
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 8,584 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · City of London · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,44516.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2322.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4705.5%
White5,95569.4%
Other ethnic group4825.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 7,375 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · City of London · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White5,79978.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2893.9%
Asian/Asian British94012.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1932.6%
Other ethnic group1542.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 7,185 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · City of London · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White6,07584.6%
Mixed1632.3%
Asian/Asian British4916.8%
Black/Black British1842.6%
Chinese/Other2723.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 320.4% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

City of London council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £88,229 per person in 1997; £109,153 per person in 2024. 23.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — City of London council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199788,229
199897,454
199990,812
200095,597
200194,611
200295,736
2003101,740
2004109,933
2005122,634
2006131,627
2007139,982
2008153,087
2009151,283
2010145,874
2011140,270
2012149,220
2013166,732
2014173,100
2015184,947
2016193,318
2017196,010
2018211,245
2019190,570
2020170,954
2021171,569
2022142,214
2023117,313
2024109,153
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

City of London council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 731.6% in 1997; 320.4% in 2024. 411.2 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — City of London council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997731.6
1998800.1
1999702.8
2000703.1
2001664.8
2002656.7
2003680.5
2004710
2005772.3
2006798.8
2007812.2
2008872.1
2009844.8
2010803.2
2011760.9
2012783.5
2013851.9
2014857.2
2015872.2
2016903.9
2017894.9
2018935
2019804.4
2020714.5
2021685.4
2022519.3
2023379.8
2024320.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

8.8%

21 March 2021 · City of London local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

6.6%

21 March 2021 · City of London local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

2.7%

21 March 2021 · City of London local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£711,000

July 2026 · City of London local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.